MOORLACH UPDATE — Good Bye and God Bless — January 2, 2015

This will be my final MOORLACH UPDATE. I do not have a media clipping today. But, I do have a couple of fun old photos and the transcript of the speech I tried to deliver at my Farewell Reception on December 16th, which starts after the first photo.

Thank you for the honor of serving you as your elected Orange County Treasurer-Tax Collector and Supervisor for the Second District. It has been an amazing adventure and a joy.

Thank you, Trina, Sarah, Caleb (CJ) and Daniel. I love you very, very much. Thanks for joining me for the journey!

P.S. If you wish to reach me, my new e-mail address will be john.ocgov@gmail.com.

December 16, 2014:

It may have started with a contract from a publisher.

I started to write a book on personal finances.

Although it was more difficult to write when my youngest, Daniel, was born in 1991, a theme was rising from my research: It didn’t matter how much you made or spent, what mattered was the journey, the ability to influence your community, and the opportunity to leave a legacy.

From my love of history, being elected to a public office seemed to fit that bill.

At my publisher’s chagrin, I took a break from writing to run for Orange County Treasurer-Tax Collector. There were many reasons. The incumbent’s investment scheme was crazy. It was hidden in the shadows.

If I won, I would be close to home.

If I won, I would be able to influence the Supervisors.

And, I would have a stronger platform from which to promote the book, versus being one of thousands of Certified Public Accountants in the country trying to promote a finance book.

My partners at Balser, Horowitz, Frank & Wakeling asked one simple question: What happens if I win?

The rest is history.

It’s hard to believe that time has gone so quickly.

But, all good things come to an end.

Being appointed nearly twenty years ago was a major transition.

Saying goodbye to my partners, my professional staff, and my clients was difficult and somewhat abrupt.

I feel compelled to thank my many friends and associates from Balser, Horowitz, Frank & Wakeling, An Accountancy Corporation, one more time. Thank you!

Serving twelve years as the County’s Treasurer-Tax Collector was a delight and an honor. Leaving eight years ago was also difficult.

The some-one-hundred members of this smaller department grew to be dear friends. We celebrated birthdays, anniversaries, and accomplishments like a large family. To my friends at the Orange County Treasurer-Tax Collector’s Office, thank you!

Serving eight exhilarating years as a County Supervisor for the sixth most populated County in the nation has been another great adventure.

We had something new to deal with literally every day.

I could go on at great lengths about the joys of having many initiatives approved, like the Office of Independent Review and the adoption of Laura’s Law.

I also have a few laments. The lack of enough time to visit every department head at their offices.

The sacrifices made to personal family time.

The recent allegations made about Bill Cosby brought back disappointing and emotionally upsetting memories of some of the human failures by key County officials that reflected poorly on us all.

And the frustration of not obtaining a year-round homeless shelter somewhere within the County.

I will remember the efforts to avoid the torpedoes aimed at the County’s ship of state.

The Great Recession.

The taking of a portion of property taxes by the state, just because these revenues were classified as vehicle license fees for bankruptcy-debt related purposes.

The transfer of state inmates to the counties as a result of the passage of Assembly Bill 109.

The administrative efforts to wind down the County’s one remaining redevelopment agency after this abused statewide technique was terminated.

Although there were a few bumps in the road, Orange County is an amazing municipality – responsible for the best 800 square miles on the planet.

I have done my best to keep her solvent.

I tried to enjoy the historical milestones. Thank you for commemorating its Quasquicentennial.

May we have the good health and fortune to reunite in 25 years for Orange County’s Sesquicentennial.

I tried to communicate via my UPDATES. It was a killer, but I personally reviewed nearly every e-mail I received.

I made more than 700 speeches and presentations. And I had a great attendance record for the Boards, Committees and Commissions on which I served.

With that, let me say thank you.

Thank you to the staff of the Treasurer-Tax Collector’s office.

Thank you to my Board colleagues, including Bill Campbell, Chris Norby, Tom Wilson, Patricia Bates, Janet Nguyen, Shawn Nelson, Todd Spitzer and Lisa Bartlett.

Thank you to my wonderful staff, my policy advisors par excellence, including Mario Mainero, John Collins, Rick Francis, Kathy Moran, Ian Rudge, Cathy Sullivan, Lindsay Brennan, Brad Angle, Mark Batarse, Kendell (Paine) Thorson, Danielle Richards, Margaret Chang, Cori Williams, Pamela Newcomb, Alyson (Price) Loyd, Cammy Danciu, David Mansdoerfer, Bob Wilson, Isabel Carpenter, Doug Woodyard, and Jim Townsend.

Thank you to the many that interned in our office over the years, including Cori Williams, Kyndell (Paine) Thorson , Alyson (Price) Loyd, Matt Price, Matthew Wissa, William Hadihusumo, Ashley Song, Allison Koressel, Katrina Lee, Jessica Anderson, Francisco Barajas, Leah-Marie Buena, Robert Coleman, Michael Thies, Sarah Seman, Jacob Ashendorf, Indy Tamplin, and Isabel Carpenter.

I want to thank all of the Department Heads that I’ve had the privilege of working with over these past twenty years.

I want to thank the Countywide electeds with whom I served.

I want to thank the voters for giving me the opportunity to serve.

I even want to thank the media for the fun interactions we’ve enjoyed over the years.

Most importantly, I want to thank my wife, Trina. Trina is an incredible woman, wife and friend. Thank you!

(The photo above is from a campaign flyer from my run for Orange County Treasurer-Tax Collector in 1994 that we scanned recently. The photo below is from another flyer from that campaign that a dear friend, Larry Gilbert, recently e-mailed to me.)

Thank you to my daughter, Sarah, who is now married and now has two lovely, young children of her own. Thank you to my two sons, Caleb and Daniel, who have finished college and are enjoying the beginnings of their careers. Kids, thanks for your patience with your busy Dad. Thank you!

I want to thank my folks and my three siblings for their lifelong support. Thank you!

I am grateful to you.

I am thankful for the journey.

I know I’ve had an influence on some of the major issues facing our cities, counties, states and nation.

And I’ve got a legacy of servant leadership.

Let me paraphrase the three recurring comments that I’ve been receiving lately.

Thank you for being co-laborers.

I will miss you.

And I hope we can connect and continue to collaborate as my journey continues.

May you be blessed as you continue the stewardship responsibilities of running an efficient County.

Thank you!

And, God bless you!

Disclaimer: You have been added to my MOORLACH UPDATE communication e-mail tree. In lieu of a weekly newsletter, you will receive occasional media updates, some with commentary to explain the situation, whenever I appear in the media (unless it is a duplication of a previous story).

I have two thoughts for you to consider: (1) my office does not usually issue press releases to get into the newspapers (only in rare cases); and (2) I do not write the articles, opinions or letters to the editor.

This message should appear at the bottom of every e-mail you receive. If these e-mails should stop arriving in your mail box, it will be because your address has changed and you did not provide a new one. If you do not wish to receive these e-mails, then please e-mail back and request to unsubscribe.

